ecotrust logo

June 23, 2006
Cynthia Johnson
503-227-6225 ext. 302


Buffett Award For Indigenous Leadership 2001 To 2005 Recipients

During the past five years, the Buffett Award has recognized twenty-five tribal leaders for their drive as catalysts for better conditions in their communities:

In 2005, Chairman W. Ron Allen (Jamestown S'Kallam) from Sequim, Washington was honored as the recipient of the Buffett Award for his work in the fields of tribal sovereignty, treaty rights, and governmental responsibilities at both the regional and national level. Four other finalists were also honored in 2005 for their achievements: Robi Michelle Craig (Kiks.adi Clan), Sitka, Alaska; Leaf Hillman (Karuk), Orleans, California; Chief Robert Pasco (Nlaka'pamux), Ashcroft, British Columbia, Canada and Chairman Shawn Yanity (Stillaguamish), Arlington, Washington.

Clarence Alexander (Dranjik Gwich'in) from Fort Yukon, Alaska received the 2004 Buffett Award for his many years of work advocating for environmental justice, tribal rights and protection of the Yukon River Watershed. Four other finalists were also honored in 2004 for their achievements: Ivan Jackson, Sr. (Klamath/Modoc), Klamath Falls, Oregon; Sarah James (Neetsaii Gwich'in), Arctic Village, Alaska; Teri Rofkar (Tlingit), Sitka, Alaska and Terry Williams (Tulalip), Marysville, Washington.

In 2003, Jeannette Armstrong (Okanagan) from Penticton, British Columbia received the Buffett Award for her work as a community leader, educator and indigenous rights activist. The four other finalists honored in 2003 were: Billy Frank, Jr. (Nisqually), Olympia, Washington; Susan Masten (Yurok), Hoopa, California; Nathan Matthew (Shuswap), Barriere, B.C., Canada and Agnes Pilgrim (Siletz), Grants Pass, Oregon.

Kelly Brown (Heiltsuk) of Bella Bella, British Columbia received the 2002 Buffett Award for his work as a negotiator, planner and educator in the areas of cultural restoration and conservation. The other four finalists honored in 2002 were: Carol Craig (Yakama), Toppenish, Washington; Kathleen Shaye Hill (Klamath), Eureka, California; Robert Sam (Tlingit), Sitka, Alaska and John D. Ward (Taku River Tlingit), Atlin, B.C., Canada.

Phillip Cash Cash (Nez Perce/Cayuse) of Oregon received the first Buffett Award for Indigenous Leadership in 2001 for his language preservation work. The four finalists honored were: David Hatch (Siletz), Portland, Oregon; Susan Burdick (Yurok), Salyer, California; Dennis Martinez (Tohono O'Oodham), Douglas City, California and Pauline Waterfall (Heiltsuk), Bella Bella, B.C., Canada.

For more information, contact Elizabeth Woody, Director of the Indigenous Leadership Program, 721 NW Ninth Avenue, Portland, OR, 97209. Phone: 503-467-0751. Fax: 503-222-1517. Email and see: www.ecotrust.org/buffettaward

Download full press release of past recipients as printable pdf (80kb pdf)
TXT Download full press release of past recipients as text document (3kb txt)


Press Releases


Contact Us

Carolyn Holland
Director of Communications
503.467.0754 (desk)
503.313.0915 (mobile)
Download vCard


Copyright © 2013 Ecotrust